Meet our 2012 youth interns and take a look at some of their projects (in progress).

My name is Paola and I’m 16. I was born and raised in Miami, Florida. My family moved to Savannah, Georgia 4 years ago. I’m proud to say that I’m from Puerto Rico and love being surrounded by its unique culture. I enjoy reading, going to the beach, and being outside.

My Name is Amando. I’m 15 years old and I’m from Houston, Texas. I like to bring plants to my mother’s garden. My biggest dream in my life is being an architect or engineer.

Hi, I’m Leyla! I am ten years old, and am homeschooled along with my three siblings. I’ve been studying birds since I was three years old. My favorite place to go birdwatching is Wildwood Lake. My favorite birds to spot are Eastern Bluebirds. I also volunteer for a guinea pig rescue and like taking arts and crafts classes. My favorite band is The Beatles, and my favorite food is pie!

My name is Mailiis. I’m 15 and a junior in high school. Although I have only begun my interest in birds within the past few years, ever since I was a kid I’ve always enjoyed drawing a lot. I have always enjoyed science, which made me all the happier to find out that art and science can be used so well together to teach others and myself. I love to spend time being connected with my Chinese and Estonian heritage. I like to listen to music and spend time outside.

My name is Philip. I’m 16 years old and I’m from Houston, Texas. I am an outdoor person, so I like to spend most of my time at parks and many grassy fields, and enjoy watching different kinds of animals.

My name is Jasmin and I went to Edison Middle School for 7-8th Grade. I’m now going to go to Westbury High School for visual arts. It took me a long time to let anybody see my drawings but my friends helped me start to share with people.